I am working on drafting a letter to Bishop Martino to address the particulars of my “experiences” with Father Gibson when I was 13.   This has been a difficult letter to write because it not only addresses the nature of the abuse but because I want to also ask him why no investigation has ever been conducted in the 18+ months since I made my initial report.   I have many more questions for him, and I truly believe answers will not be forthcoming.  

Obviously the drafting the letter is taking much of my limited down time at night.   One of the things I have been asking myself is “why are you bothering in the first place with such low expectations?”.  If nothing else, the people wearing blinders on Wyoming Avenue in Scranton will have the information that they should have collected as part of the investigation they should have conducted.  I don’t want to be accused of not providing information to the Bishop to inform his decision on what  action would be  appropriate in dealing with the problem.   I suspect that action verbs are not in vogue in Scranton.

If you have advice or recommendations on how I should focus the letter, I would be glad to hear it.  Leave a comment or send me an email.

