The Foundation to Abolish Child Sex Abuse (FACSA) has issued an “Action Alert” to garner support for the NY Child Victims Act (NY Assembly Bill 2596). If you are a victim who was abused in New York (even if you are not a resident of that state), know someone that was or are just concerned about the continuing sexual exploitation and abuse of children please consider writing to the state legislators listed below.

If you need to understand why this bill is important, the NY Coalition to Protect Children has a website that explains better than I can.

The text of the FACSA Action Alert follows:

Urgent Action Needed on NY Child Victims Act

In the next 2 days your action could help get the NY Child Victims Act (NY Assembly Bill 2596) passed.

There is a bill in the New York Assembly that has a chance to extend the statute of limitations on child sex abuse and to open a one year window to allow survivors to have a chance for justice. The NY Catholic Conference is promoting a competing bill which extends the statute of limitations minimally and does not have a window. It is imperative that NY Legislators hear from survivors and their supporters. Please call or email the people on the list below and share this email with everyone you know who cares about children.

THE TIME TO CALL/EMAIL THEM IS NOW!

These following members of the New York Assembly may be on the fence about the Child Victims Act. It is imperative that they hear from victims and their supporters to encourage them to vote yes on this bill.

Ron Canestrari 518-455-4474 CanestR@assembly.state.ny.us

RoAnn M. Destito 518-455-5454 DestitR@assembly.state.ny.us

John J. McEneny 518-455-4178 McEnenJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Audrey I. Pheffer 518-455-4292 PheffeA@assembly.state.ny.us

Robert Reilly 518-455-5931 ReillyR@assembly.state.ny.us

Marc Alessi 518-455-5294 AlessiM@assembly.state.ny.us

Carl Heastie 518-455-4800 HeastieC@assembly.state.ny.us

Sam Hoyt 518-455-4886 HoytS@assembly.state.ny.us

William Magee 518-455-4807 MageeW@assembly.state.ny.us

Joseph Morell 518-455-5373 MorellJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Alec Brook-Krasny 518-455-4811 BrookKrasnyA@assembly.state.ny.us

Joan K. Christensen 518-455-5383 ChristensenJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Andrew Hevesi 518-455-4926 HevesiA@assembly.state.ny.us

Naomi Rivera 518-455-5844 RiveraN@assembly.state.ny.us

Kenneth Zebrowski 518-455-5735 ZebrowskiK@assembly.state.ny.us

Francine DelMonte 518-455-5284 DelMonF@assembly.state.ny.us

Mark Weprin 518-455-5806 WeprinM@assembly.state.ny.us

William B. Magnarelli 518-455-4826 MagnarW@assembly.state.ny.us

Michael Benedetto 518-455-5296 BenedeM@assembly.state.ny.us

Adam Bradley 518-455-5397 BradleA@assembly.state.ny.us

Grace Meng 518-455-5411 MengG@assembly.state.ny.us

Michael G. DenDekker 518-455-4545 DenDekkerM@assembly.state.ny.us

Frank K. Skartados 518-455-5762 SkartadosF@assembly.state.ny.us

Advertisements